Stirling Prize shortlist announced: winner to be revealed in October

Stirling Prize shortlist announced: winner to be revealed in October

This year’s Stirling Prize shortlist has been revealed by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

It includes Damien Hirst’s London gallery, an Oxford university building by Herzog & de Meuron and a forest home for a pair of artists.

The prize is awarded by the RIBA in recognition of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

Blavatnik School of Government by Herzog & de Meuron

These six are: Blavatnik School of Government by Herzog & de Meuron; City of Glasgow College by Michael Laird Architects, and Reiach and Hall Architects; Newport Street Gallery by Caruso St John Architects; Outhouse by Loyn & Co Architects; Trafalgar Place by dRMM Architects and Weston Library by Wilkinson Eyre.

City of Glasgow college by Michael Laird Architects.

Half of the shortlist is education buildings, and two of them have the same client: the University of Oxford. Two of the projects are residential – a private house and a high-density development – and the final addition is an art gallery.

Newport Street Gallery London by Damien Hirst

“Every one of the six buildings shortlisted today illustrates the huge benefit that well-designed buildings can bring to people’s lives,” said RIBA president Jane Duncan.

“The shortlisted projects are each fantastic new additions to their individual locations – on an urban street, a city riverside, an estate regeneration, an historic city centre and a hidden part of the countryside – but their stand-out common quality is the inspiration they will bring to those who study, live, visit and pass by them, for generations to come.”

Outhouse by Loyn & Co Architects

“To me, this shortlist reflects everything that is great about UK architecture – a blend of experimental, artistic vision and a commitment to changing people’s lives for the better,” she concluded.

Wilkinson Eyre has won the prize twice before, for the Magna Centre in Yorkshire and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge, while Herzog & de Meuron previously won it for the Laban Dance Centre.

Trafalgar Place by dRMM Architects

Both Caruso St John and dRMM have been shortlisted before, but never won. But Loyn & Co has never been listed before, and is the first firm in 15 years to have a private house on the shortlist.

Weston Library by Wilkinson Eyre

The list was selected from the 46 winners of the RIBA’s national awards, which were revealed last month.

A panels of judges including Zaha Hadid Architects director Patrik Schumacher, artist Rachel Whiteread, AHMM co-founder Paul Monaghan and Heneghan Peng architect Roisin Heneghan will now visit all six projects before selecting a winner, which will be announced on Thursday 6 October 2016.

Most Popular