Shortlist announced for Stockholm Nobel Prize centre

Shortlist announced for Stockholm Nobel Prize centre

A total of 12 firms including OMA, Herzog & Meuron, SANAA and BIG have been shortlisted to design the new headquarters for the Nobel Prize in Stockholm, Sweden.

Others shortlisted include architect David Chipperfield, Danish 3XN, Snøhetta, Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor,  Swiss architects Marcel Meili and Markus Peter, Lacaton & Vassal Architects, Swedish studio Wingårdhs and Danish architects Lundgaard & Tranberg.

The building is set to become the new home of the Nobel Foundation, which has been based in Stockholm since 1900.

Included in the programme are public spaces for exhibitions, conferences and events, as well as a library, café, restaurant and shop.

“We are confident that we will secure the necessary financing to begin the architectural competition and carry out the project during the current calendar year,” said Lars Heikensten, executive director of the Nobel Foundation.

Most Popular