CID Awards 2015: How to nominate

Your essential guide for how to enter the Commercial Interior Design Awards 2015, held on Wednesday 16 September 2015.

The Commercial Interior Design Awards is back for its ninth edition, with arrangements for the awards ceremony underway. As the deadline for nominations is coming up on 22 July, 2015, the Commercial Interior Design editorial team is keen to get as many designers and projects involved as possible.

For the past eight years, the industry’s key professionals from companies across the GCC and the Levant have entred the esteemed Commercial Interior Design Awards, enthusiastic about winning not only the award of their relevant categories, but also the recognition of their peers for their hard work, endless efforts and manifested dreams.

Commercial Interior Design Awards recognises projects from all over the Middle East and North Africa, spanning across 16 categories. Of the 16 categories, 10 reward projects from across the design sectors like office, hotel and leisure. The remaining six reward individuals and firms alike that have raised the bar in the region, like Interior Designer of the Year and the Behind the Scenes awards.

This year, the industry will see a couple changes made to the categories. While we removed Lifetime Achievement Award, we’ve added International Project of the Year, which rewards the best interior design project overseas delivered in the last 12 months by a MENA-based interior design firm.

Additionally, we’ve split the cateogries formerly known as Interior Design of the Year: Hospitality and Interior Design of the Year: Leisure & Entertainment, into three different categories. The three new categories include Interior Design of the year: Hotels, Interior Design of the Year: Bars & Clubs, and Interior Design of the Year: Food & Beverage.

Interior Design of the Year: Hotels awards the best interior design in a hotel project that has an inspired scheme that paid close attention to conceptual coherence throughout the large, multifunctional space. Interior Design of the Year: Bars & Clubs will reward the best interior design in social spaces intended to encourage vibrant nightlife, and Interior Design of the Year: Food & Beverage will go to the best interior design for a restaurant or café project, with a creative concept and application.

This year, we really want readers to tell us about their colleagues’ achievements and why they are so important. The nominations process is designed to help ensure the process is as fair and transparent as possible.

In addition to submitting images of relevant work, the descriptive text allows judges to really understand the quality of work completed by the individual or firm.

Nominations for this year’s Commercial Interior Design Awards are now open, with the deadline set for July 21, 2015. To help you entre and get involved, Commercial Interior Design has created an ultimate guide to understanding the awards process and ensuring your nominations stand out.


Nominations are open to all design firms and studios located in the Middle East and North Africa, from the large and well-known to the independent, on-man shows. If you work in a design firm in the Middle East, then you can nominate one or more of your colleagues and projects into the awards.

It’s important to keep in mind that a project can suit one or more categories, and it can therefore be nominated for each category that the project is relevant to. However, each nomination should be made particular to the category, and copy-and-paste submissions will be less likely to stand out among competitive nominations that have been tailored to suit that specific award category.

HR managers, PR managers or marketing managers may be the best to go to for creating outstanding nomination submissions as they are more readily apt to check that all the necessary criteria is there. Additionally, we recommend having the GM or appropriate head of department included in the nomination process.


If you are the person chosen to champion the Commercial Interior Design Awards within your respective office, then you have the difficult task of looking within your company’s wide portfolio and deciding what should be nominated.

Ultimately, Commercial Interior Design and the judges are looking for projects and individuals that are above and beyond the usual standard of work found in the region. It doesn’t have to be the most experienced person or the most well-known firm, rather a person who is conscientious and committed, who brings a fresh outlook to their role and as a result, contributes something original to the industry.

Think about peers that are indispensable and inspire the rest of the team. Consider those that have overcome great odds in their careers and personal lives to achieve what they have.

Also think about the projects that are most memorable and that demand the attention of their guests, customers and clients. These are projects that set milestones in Dubai’s growing design scene, and that remind us all that we are not here to ‘catch Dubai up’ to international standards, but rather to surpass them.


Nominations are conducted online at Each submission should include clear images along with a 500-word text that describes why the nominated subject deserves to win that category. By going to the website mentioned before, nominators can complete submission details and email all supporting documents (including images) to:

Nominations can be an overwhelming process, so before getting started take a look at the guidelines listed below:

1. All design firms are eligible to nominate commercial and residential projects from the MENA region that have been completed between July 2014 – July 2015.

2. Nominations must be made by design firm representatives, and we recommend having the nominations be approved by PR or marketing agencies before being submitting.

3. Firms are allowed to nominate projects in as many categories as they wish. One project may be submitted multiple times to different categories, however each nomination must be made separately and relevant to the category.

4. For categories awarding individuals and firms, submissions must include all relevant and up to date information on achievements over the past 12 months.

5. All nominations are free and must be submitted online at

6. In addition to including images and text relevant to the submission, please provide contact information in case further information is needed.

If you should require anything else, please contact for nominee inquiries, for table bookings, and for sponsorship opportunities.

Award Categories

• Interior Design of the Year: Hotels (NEW)
• Interior Design of the Year: Bars & Clubs (NEW)
• Interior Design of the Year: Food & Beverage (NEW)
• Interior Design of the Year: Office
• Interior Design of the Year: Public


• Interior Design of the Year: Residential
• Interior Design of the Year: Retail
• International Project of the Year (NEW)
• American Hardwood Export Council Award
• Sustainable Interior Design Initiative of the Year
• Interior Contractor of the Year – Designer’s Choice Award
• Behind the Scenes Award
• Young Interior Designer of the Year
• Interior Designer of the Year Award
• Interior Design Boutique Firm of the Year
• Interior Design Firm of the Year

Most Popular